With reference to ‘this thing called respect,’
to comply with what it means is to ‘show
consideration for’ an individual’s right to
think for themselves… not what they know,
and, in turn, to not intimidate them for what
they believe (though different from you),
for to truly gain respect it must be given
to someone else, not taken, or it’s not true.

ANTONYMS for ‘Respect’: contempt, disrespect, despise, scorn, disregard, disobey

 

About four years ago… I was removed from an Australian site, one called ‘Red Bubble,’ for [what was classified as] harassment. Below is their ‘Play Nice Policy.’
Redbubble is a respectful, supportive and encouraging community of people who are passionate about art and creativity. Redbubble welcomes artists of all experience levels and from all walks of life. You probably won’t agree with everyone all the time, but we ask that you are mature, respectful and considerate in your interactions with others. If you disagree with something you see on Redbubble, please be mindful that it’s not ok to target other artists, write personal or hurtful comments about them or use them as negative examples¹. Such actions are considered a breach of our community guidelines on acceptable behavior and can result in account closure.

 

We ask that you respect the rights of others to have different points of view, different artistic tastes and different standards. We encourage artists not to seek out or engage with content you don’t agree with and we expect artists to take steps to avoid conflict. If you see behaviour or content which is in breach of our community guidelines or user agreement, you can flag this with us by using the reporting functions around the site.

 

Above all, we urge you to make the most of your time here by taking part in activities that energise and inspire you. And offer support and encouragement to other artists. It will help them grow, inspire them to learn new things and create more art. Contribute positively to the community and you’ll find Redbubble is a place where you can make connections, collaborate, learn, share and immerse yourself in the things you’re passionate about.

 

1… by objecting to what I said… I was made the negative example, and the party complaining said I was harassing her. Under these ‘extreme conditions,’ favoring one side against another, there seems to be a disconnect with understanding the difference between antagonist vs. protagonist; whereby a protagonist is to advocate what antagonist is to hostile. I ask you, in the evidence provided, who is being harassed? All questions asked will be answered.

 

As a direct result of: disrespect… being directed against me (for my beliefs) and using a ‘back-handed view’ of respect, I was punished by an account closure. I can handle that… even when it meant I: lost control of groups I originated, and could not gain access again- with no consideration coming from what I had done (as a volunteer) for RedBubble itself. What I do resent [the most] is having been denied access to what I would consider my personal ‘Intellectual Property,’ my own writing(s) placed through RedBubble’s own website. I consider this an act of theft… for removing me from what what done by my own hand, efforts of time and labor- just like an art thief but here it is related to literary thoughts and ideas in print.

 
Since the time of this happening I have never shown the proof I said I had… and this will be disclosed today. To cause an account closure there must be,” two notifications of complaint.” I allege I was unaware of one, information that was sent by email; which means I was aware of the first but not the second. To this day… the second email remains unopened to attest to the validity of the truthfulness of my claim. Furthermore, to cause an ‘account closure’ based on assumption (notification is received… without acknowledgement) is hardly supportive of ‘an open minded community’ RedBubble claims it is and has within it.

 


P.S. As I’m going in to an old email account (hotmail… the same account RedBubble used to communicate with me before [without confirmation I received it]), I find current communication coming from them to me. I have been under the impression, since June, 2012, with an account closure… and no access to my own material they (RedBubble) had neither any more use for me nor interest in me. This is when I started writing with WordPress… June, 2012. True, I had no more interest there (personally… with RedBubble) if I could not: participate, contribute or offer encouragement and support to or for the many artists and writers within the groups I knew of or created myself. I now find it very insulting (offending) to think RedBubble has continued to send me emails throughout this four year period of my life. If they truly are a supportive group of creative people, then let them please: send my poetry back to me, allow me a limited time to regain my lost writing or reopen the account that was closed… with the same degree of access (my writing then available again… to me) I had before. I’m sure, with a worldwide reach, they have not wiped it out- this is my hope… without animosity. This is a viewpoint with ‘respect’ for all of the creatives still there… the ones I call friends and the ones I did not (yet) know.

 
P.S.S. I did not (originally) respond to assumptions or assertions made (generally in the later part) which seemed to convey a one sided view or bias to a truth: believed, thought or presumed to be true. I can only add this… when general statements about people in general are assumed to be taken personally (meaning: if it is perceived there is or has been an attack to one’s self with no regard to their feelings) is when communication would cease (among reasonable people), a wall would be built and respect for difference emerges to render nothing more than a thinly veiled veneer of courtesy- a superficial ‘with all due respect’ found in behavior and probity.

 
“I don’t believe there’s anything cosmic or divine or morally superior about whales and dolphins or sharks or trees, but I do think that everything that lives is holy and somehow integrated; and on cloudy days I suspect that these extraordinary phenomena, and the hundreds of tiny, modest versions no one hears about, are an ocean, an earth, a Creator, something shaking us by the collar, demanding our attention, our fear, our vigilance, our respect, our help.”
Tim Winton– A Coastal Memoir

 
This is why this all took place on an Australian based website, with consideration to who might have complained (likely) coming from one among the groups also protected and listed here [within the groups protected by and with the U.D.H.R., Universal Declaration of Human Rights] or from what actually constitutes harassment– oddly enough.

 
Harassment can be defined: belittling words intended to be intimidating or humiliating, and multiple repeated text messages (includes e-mails) that torment(s) or offend(s) someone.

